Hardeggská vyhlídka - Hardegg Lookout
Hardegg Lookout offers an extraordinary view of the Dyje valley and the town of Hardegg.. The original lookout tower shelter, dating from 1885, was called the Luitgarde Outlook. Later abandoned and totally destroyed. In 1990 the shelter was reconstructed by the Austrian Tourist Club and given to the CHKO Podyjí Administration. Below the lookout are conspicuous amphitheatres with protected species of plants and animals.
Králův stolec - The king's throne
Lookout over the Znojmo Reservoir. A legend has it that in 1683 the Polish king Jan III. Sobieski observed from this spot his army crossing the river Dyje, as it moved against the Turks that besieged Vienna. In 1892 a wooden pavilion which served up to the end of World War I was built in this site by the Znojmo section of the Austrian Tourist Club. In 1922 the Association of German Tourists, together with the Club of Czech Tourists, built a new shelter in its present form not far from the original pavilion.
Kraví hora - Kraví hill
A hill above Znojmo, with rare heath flora and fauna. Occurrence of thermophilous and xerophilous plants, such as hairy green-weed, pasque flower, and animals such as Ascalaphus macaronius, green lizard, and smooth snake. A nice view of Znojmo and Hradiště sv. Hipolyta. Particularly impressive in the late summer period when the heather plants blossom in beautiful violet hues.
Rocky slope with many underground spaces that developed in orthogneiss rock streams. Due to the specific microclimate in the caves, underground ice ornamentation has developed, sometimes lasting until late spring. On the surface occurs a unique association of psychrophilous and ombrophilous plant and animal species. The slope, including the underground spaces, is not open to the public on account of nature conservation and the danger from rock blocks that are still on the move.. The lookout on top of the rock at the Obelisk offers breathtaking views of the deep valley of the river Dyje, a separated meander, and the forest complex of Braitava.
Nový hrádek - New Castle
Ruins of a former hunting castle, established in 1358 by the Moravian margrave Jan Jindřich, brother to Charles IV. Two castles form the area of the ruins: an older building with a double oval ring of battlements, and a so-called leading castle which, starting in the 15th century, gradually developed out of an initially counter-shifted fortification. After the Thirty Years' War the castle fell into ruin. In the courtyard grow many plants of the seriously threatened Verbascum speciosum, the cellars serve as bat roosts. The castle walls host rare gold dust plants. Below the castle are the remains of a Medieval terrace grown with protected plant species. On the plateau of the ruin the visitor is offered one of the most beautiful views of the Dyje, picturesquely meandering around the Ostroh and the Austrian Umlaufberg. The landscape configuration creates the impression of three rivers flowing around the castle.
Radniční věž - Town Hall Tower
Built in 1445-1448 by Mikuláš of Sedlešovice. Symbol of the city of Znojmo, it has a Gothic core and ist almost 80 metres tall. Its highest cupola contains a number of charts documenting repairs of the city.
Sealsfieldův kámen - Sealsfieldův Stone
Lookout into the deep canyon of the Dyje on the Popický circuit. Favourite site of the writer Karel Anton Postl (later known under the engl. pseudonym Charles Sealsfield), born in Popice in 1793. On a rocky outcrop below the lookout a stand of thermophilous oak wood with occurrence of tufted hyacinth, white dittany, stag beetle, hoopoe and other rare species.
Already in the Middle Ages was this locality used for viticulture. The wine was famous for its quality and particularly in the 19th century it was delivered to the Imperial Court and to well-kmown Viennese restaurants. At present, grapevines are cultivated here in an area of 11 hectares. The locality is considered to be one of the ten best vineyard localities in Europe. White vines are primarily cultivated here: grey and white Rhine and Italian riesling. In summer moths, visitors can taste wines from this locality directly in the vineards. From a path leading along the ridge there is a nice view on either side into the Dyje Valley and the Devět mlýnů locality.
Železné schody - Iron steps
Lookout above an abandoned meander of the river Dyje in the locality of Devět mlýnů. The name (Iron Stairs) reminds of the site in which the Iron Curtain lay perpendicular across a steep slope. For easier movement of Border Guiard soldiers, steep iron stairs were bult there. They were removed in 1996.